Now Reading
Congrats to the Winners of the 2022 CHIRBy Awards!

Congrats to the Winners of the 2022 CHIRBy Awards!

On December 8, 2022, we came together for the 2022 CHIRBy Awards, co-presented by StoryStudio Chicago! Now in its seventh year, the CHIRBy Awards is our annual celebration of the Chicago literary community where we honor the best Chicago-focused fiction, nonfiction, poetry, and short essays.

Congratulations to this year’s winners and to all of our incredible finalists!

(Read the shortlist here)


Against Heaven
By Kemi Alabi
Graywolf Press


Crying in the Bathroom: A Memoir
By Erika L. Sánchez


The School For Good Mothers
By Jessamine Chan
Simon & Schuster

Essay/Short Story:

“It’s quiet around here until it’s not”
By Salem Collo-Julin
Chicago Reader

The Adam Morgan Literary Leadership Award:

This year the Adam Morgan Literary Leadership Award went to Director of Seminary Co-op Bookstores Jeff Deutsch for his long-time advocacy of independent bookselling and the Chicago literary community, as well as his work to republish Leon Forrest’s Divine Days.

See Also

A huge thank you to this year’s judges, which included many of the Chicago Review of Books‘s editorial staff and representatives from Chicago’s independent bookstores:


Michael Welch, Editor-In-Chief

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

© 2021 All Rights Reserved.