The Winners of the 2019 Chicago Review of Books Awards

Congratulations to these incredible writers.

Last Friday we celebrated the fourth annual Chicago Review of Books Awards, co-presented by StoryStudio Chicago at the Ravenswood Event Center. The “Chirby” awards celebrate the best books published by Chicago-based writers and poets in the past year. Here are 2019’s winners. Congratulations to all of these incredible writers!


1919 by Eve Ewing 

Here’s the poetry shortlist.


Burn the Place by Iliana Regan

Here’s the nonfiction shortlist.

Essay/Short Story: 

“An Axe for the Frozen Sea” by Megan Stielstra

in Believer Magazine

Here’s the best essay/short story shortlist.


False Bingo by Jac Jemc

Here’s the fiction shortlist.

The Adam Morgan Literary Citizen Award:

This year we also awarded the first Adam Morgan Literary Citizen Award to a person making outstanding contributions to Chicago’s literary scene. This year the award went to Ydalmi Noriega of the Poetry Foundation.

And many, many thanks to this year’s judges, which included many of the Chicago Review of Books‘s editorial staff and several representatives from Chicago’s independent bookstores:

1 comment on “The Winners of the 2019 Chicago Review of Books Awards

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: